Building GDB with Mingw

When I am on a Windows machine, my tool of choice is normally cygwin. Mainly because it feels more unixy. It’s got that self contained feel, and the package management is pretty slick. So I try to avoid Mingw. But I couldn’t get gdb to build under cygwin. A quick google told me it was something in some script that was incompatible with windows. I don’t know anything about it so I didn’t try to fix it. So I turned to Mingw. And it just worked. To be honest I didn’t think it would work, but, it just did. Pretty simple:

Download the mingw gdb src and execute the following from the msys shell:

cd
./configure –prefix=/mingw –disable-nls
make
make install

Leave a Reply

